Skip to content

Recipe Review: Peach Upside-Down Cake

August 28, 2009
by

peach cake copy2

I love cake. I love peaches. I love being upside down*. Therefore, this recipe for Peach Upside-Down cake over on Fat Free Vegan called out to me and begged me to make it. I obliged, and I’m here to tell you what I thought of it.

Let me start by saying it was delicious, and I ate nearly the whole thing myself (not in one sitting, thank goodness, but still). I used a spring-form cake pan because (poor me!) I don’t have a cast iron skillet like the recipe said to use. Also, in reading the recipe again just now, I realized that I read “1/2 tsp ginger” as “2 tsp ginger”…um, whoops. It was still really good, but I do remember thinking “this should be called Peach-Ginger Upside-down cake”, because it definitely had a strong ginger taste to it. Apparently that was my own little accidental variation! I also added the optional extra 1/2 cup of sugar, but that was on purpose. It was just the right amount of sweetness for me, but I’m sure it would be good with just the 1/2 cup that the recipe calls for.

I originally stumbled upon this recipe on Vegan Yum Yum, and I have to say that the “how to cut a ripe peach” tutorial was extremely helpful. Check it out if you want to cut peaches so each slice doesn’t look deformed (that’s how I used to cut them, because I’m fancy like that).

All in all, I definitely recommend this cake if you’re looking for a dessert that tastes fresh and light. And if you love ginger, do it my way by QUADRUPLING what the recipe actually calls for! (I love experimenting and not even realizing I’m doing it.)

Also, I would like to note that I realize my cake looks like it has some white goo on the top of it. I can only assume that it is some sort of sugar-based goo, because it was delicious. Do not be alarmed by the goo! I promise I will get better at photographing food, too – seriously, this picture isn’t great, but it’ll have to do for now!
peaches copy
______________
*May not be true. But I really do love cake & peaches.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

