Skip to content

Recipe Review of My New Favorite Food: Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes

October 28, 2009

tempeh cakes

Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes with Ginger-Maple Roasted Root Vegetables

I guess the title of this post kind of gives away what kind of review this is going to be, huh?

Let me just say:  you NEED to make these.  They’re in Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s new cookbook,Vegan Brunch, and luckily for all of you, they’re also posted on the Post Punk Kitchen website, so you don’t have to buy the book if you don’t want to (although I recommend you do).   I made these just as described and they are absolutely divine. I’m not kidding.  My boyfriend told me they’re the best thing I’ve ever made for him (which is saying something considering how often I cook!). I wish I could take credit for the creativity, but whatever. Someone had to PUT THEM TOGETHER, OKAY?…. so I get a little bit of credit for that.

Isa says these are a brunch appetizer, but personally I think they’re a great evening meal.  The first time I made them I made Ginger-Maple Roasted Root Vegetables (also from Vegan Brunch) as a side. They were good, but not quite the right accompaniment to the cakes.  The second time I decided to make a simple Lemon Rice Pilaf instead using this recipe (subbing Earth Balance for butter, obviously), and that hit the spot. It’s not the greatest pilaf you’ll ever eat, but for some reason it complemented the tempeh cakes really well.  I was going to make a salad as well but Jeff told me “don’t worry about sides, I’m just going to focus on the tempeh cakes anyway.”  He stayed true to his word.  The only downside of making this recipe?  I lose out on leftovers because he gives me this puppy-dog look and asks if he can have the leftovers for lunch the next day. I can’t say no to that.  I guess maybe I need to make a double batch?

FYI: If you eat these as an entree like we did, you’ll get 10 cakes total out of the recipe, and both times we had 3 cakes leftover between the two of us. Oh, and if you’re the calorie counting type, I calculated that there are about 87 calories per cake – BEFORE frying. I have no idea how much fat the oil adds, but I imagine it’s a fair amount. That sure hasn’t stopped me from gorging on them, though!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink*
    October 28, 2009 2:49 pm

    Damn, girl. These look so much better than the mush that mine turned into! (Though I was impatient & did exactly what Isa said not to do, which is mold the tempeh into cakes while it’s still hot from steaming…) I need to try this again because they look divine! (And even my mush tasted pretty darn good.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

