Skip to content

Vegan Chickpea Noodle Soup

November 10, 2009

chickpea noodle soup

As winter approaches, I find myself wanting to cook soup more often. One of my favorite cookbooks, Veganomicon, has a recipe for Chickpea Noodle Soup.  I’ve made it several times, tweaking it to my liking each time.  Recently I finally perfected it (to my taste, anyway) and I thought I’d share my version of this yummy comfort food!

Chickpea Noodle Soup

(adapted from Veganomicon)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 T olive oil for sauteing vegetables
  • 1 medium sized yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 c carrots, peeled & sliced
  • 1 c celery, sliced
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp fresh rosemary (dried is fine too)
  • fresh ground pepper (to taste)
  • 8 oz (uncooked) spaghetti noodles*
  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 5 c vegetable broth
  • 2 c water
  • salt to taste
*The picture shows this made with fettuccine noodles, but it’s better with spaghetti noodles. I just didn’t have any and was too lazy to go buy some!

DIRECTIONS

  1. Saute chopped onions in olive oil until they start to soften.  Add garlic, carrots, celery, thyme, rosemary and pepper and saute for 2-3 minutes longer.
  2. Add the chickpeas, water and vegetable broth and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add spaghetti noodles (break them into thirds first to make for easier eating), and simmer until spaghetti noodles are cooked.  Add salt to taste (I use the regular sodium veggie broth and then only add a little salt).

I’ve made this for some omnivores and they all comment how much it tastes like Chicken Noodle soup.  And while I don’t want to eat any chickens, there is something comforting about eating a food from your childhood – or rather, a cruelty free version of that childhood food!

Nutrition Info (1/6th of batch)
Calories: 223
Carbs: 41g
Fat: 3.6g
Protein: 7.0g
Fiber: 6.2g

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 3:45 pm

    I am loving soup right now too! That looks so comforting!! YUM! :)

  2. November 10, 2009 11:49 pm

    Mindy that looks really good!

  3. Andrea permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:21 am

    I want to cook now. Thanks for making me want to do womanly, house-wifey things. It really does look so good that I just might make some.

  4. Mindy permalink*
    November 11, 2009 10:47 am

    I hope y’all like it! No, I’m not from the south. That was very misleading.

    Andrea, your little Maya will love it! Mostly because for a 2 year old, it will be kinda messy. Well, and maybe for Erin too for that matter. :)

  5. November 11, 2009 10:55 am

    Hooray for vegan comfort food!

  6. November 12, 2009 4:52 am

    I’ve been meaning to make this for ages!

  7. November 12, 2009 8:15 am

    I really love noodles in soup. And I love chickpeas. This sounds like a perfect recipe to me.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Vegan Chickpea Noodle Soup « Veg Out With Us! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

