Skip to content

Thanksgiving Ideas: Herbed Mashed Potatoes with Chickpea Gravy, Maple Glazed Yams & Tofu Turkey

November 19, 2009

Thanksgiving is fast approaching – it’s hard to believe it’s the end of November, isn’t it?  Where does the time go?

Anyway, this year while I’ll be spending actual Thanksgiving Day with my boyfriend’s family, I will get to host a vegan Thanksgiving on the 28th for my (omnivorous) family.  I am pretty darn thrilled about this, I have to say.  My family has tried my food before (and my mom has even stopped calling it “fake food”), but this will be the first time they’ll all be eating vegan food for a holiday.  Because of this, I really want to make the food not just good, but amazing!  I want them to eat it and think “well, I didn’t miss the turkey at all, let’s do it this way every year” (I may be too hopeful on that last part).

The last couple years, I’ve replaced turkey with a Field Roast Celebration Roast, and while those are pretty good, I would prefer to serve something homemade and better than “pretty good”.   As a tester for the upcoming Happy Herbivore cookbook, I was able to try her Tofu Turkey recipe, which was delicious, but probably not the right substitute for my family, unfortunately.  It definitely has that “Thanksgiving” flavor, but I have a feeling my family will be weirded out by the texture (they’re not big on tofu).  I am super excited for her cookbook, though – so many great, fat free, delicious vegan recipes – can’t wait!   The herbed mashed potatoes recipe can be found in the “Pudge-Free Holidays” e-cookbook, available for purchase on her site. Loved this recipe!

Anyway, I think I found the recipe I will be using for the gravy.  From Vegan With a Vengeance, it’s the Punkrock Chickpea Gravy.  It has a great texture, and looks like the gravy I remember.  The only thing is that I found it a little salty.  I’m going to make it with low-sodium soy sauce next time (probably less of it), because that’s the only thing I could think of that would have made it too salty.  I think my family will really like this gravy.

Tofu turkey with herbed mashed potatoes, chickpea gravy, maple yams, and broccoli

Ok, last but not least are the Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes:

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 1/3″ slices
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons vegan margarine
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, toss together the sweet potatoes, honey, ginger, walnut oil, cardamom, and pepper. Transfer to a lightly oiled, large cake pan.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven. Stir the potatoes to expose the pieces from the bottom of the pan. Bake for another 20 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are tender and caramelized on the outside.

So, those are 3 of the things I’ll be making for Thanksgiving. I’ll also be making cream corn and stuffing, as well as a vegan version of green bean casserole. AND, if I’m really ambitious, I might try to veganize my grandmother’s recipe for potato buns (a staple at holidays).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Steff permalink
    November 20, 2009 8:36 am

    I am pretty sure your family is going to be quite happy with your menu. I am drooling all over my computer just thinking about those sweet potatoes! You owe me a new laptop keyboard, Min.

  2. November 20, 2009 12:54 pm

    Yum! Love SP!

  3. November 25, 2009 4:51 am

    Damn, I love that gravy. Those Yams sound great!

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Ideas, Take Two « Veg Out With Us!
  2. Let’s Talk Turkey « Veg Out With Us!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

