Skip to content

Broccoli, Spinach & Mushroom Quiche

January 10, 2010

Happy New Year, everyone!  (I know it’s over a week into 2010, but this is our first post since December, so I’m saying it, anyway!)  Hope everyone had a healthy & happy holiday season!  Now it’s back to “real life,” with no more three-day weekends until…  Memorial Day weekend in May?!  Hmph.  That’s sad.

Anywaaaaaay.

Back in my pregan (pre-vegan ;)) days, I loved quiche.  Luckily for me (and for all the egg-laying hens out there), vegan quiches are just as delicious as those of the egg variety – perhaps even moreso.

This quiche was inspired by the Broccoli Quiche recipe in Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, but as usual, I made some tweaks to suit my tastes & the ingredients I had on hand.  I didn’t have enough broccoli for the whole pie, so I chopped up what I had, and also included extra onion, about a cup of sliced mushrooms, and a couple cups of spinach.  I also added ½ c. nutritional yeast, and used my black salt instead of regular sea salt for a little extra “eggy” taste.  Oh!  And I reduced the cashews from ½ c. to ¼ c.  For the crust, I used the recipe for the Basic Pastry Crust in Veganomicon (I like that one better than the one in Vegan Brunch) – but I used almost all whole wheat pastry flour, and reduced the sugar to 1 tsp., since this was for a savory pie.

All in all, it was very easy & took less than an hour from the time I started chopping veggies to the time I took the quiche out of the oven (not including the time needed to chill the dough for the crust).  A very easy, filling, and warming dinner, which was perfect for this insanely cold January we’ve had so far!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 6:03 pm

    This looks beautiful!! :) YUM! Happy New Year to you as well!

  2. January 11, 2010 1:40 am

    Heck yeah vegan quiches are delicious! And anything Isa inspired is bound to be delicious, that woman is pure vegan genius. I love this photo, wish I could have a slice for breakfast this morning.

  3. January 11, 2010 11:15 am

    Heyyy, what are you doing this weekend? Wanna come over? Bring that.

  4. January 11, 2010 1:57 pm

    Definitely a great recipe! Happy New Year, even though it’s belated :)

  5. January 11, 2010 5:54 pm

    We still have another 3-day weekend next weekend! Everything shuts down in Memphis on MLK Day (Monday, the 18th) since he was killed here back in the day. I guess the best we can think to honor his memory is with another day off work after Christmas break…sad, but it works out pretty well for me with a day off.

    Also, I’ve yet to try that quiche recipe, but it looks so good! No wait…a friend actually brought that to a vegan potluck awhile back. But it was ice cold, out of her fridge. I’d like to try it warm out of the oven (and made with a little black salt).

  6. January 14, 2010 11:41 am

    HI!!!! that quiche looks fantastic!! clearly im just as exclamation point happy as you are haha. Keep warm!!!

  7. January 15, 2010 8:13 am

    it looks like christmas! like holly berries! (but i’m sure it tastes much better)

  8. January 15, 2010 8:26 pm

    Isn’t it SO good?!

  9. January 22, 2010 10:54 am

    Oh my that looks to die for!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

