Skip to content

My New Favorite Dinner: TLT Salad

January 17, 2010

As I’ve mentioned before, I really, really love tempeh bacon (recipe here).  (Quick sidenote: Despite the fact that my last post was about tofu quiche & this post is about tempeh bacon, I actually don’t eat a whole lot of soy.  I don’t really make a point to avoid it, per se, but it’s my opinion that too much of any one thing isn’t the healthiest way to eat, and there are so many delicious plant-based foods out there that I don’t need to rely on soy!) So, that said, I’m more than willing to make some room in my diet for this tempeh bacon every now & then.

I have grown to love salads, and I love to keep them interesting.  When trying to decide what to have for dinner a few weeks back, I settled on a TLT (Tempeh, Lettuce, and Tomato) Salad using my tempeh bacon recipe.  I was very pleased with the results, so I wanted to share the idea.  It’s just a bunch of leafy greens (lettuce, spinach, mixed spring greens, or even kale), some cherry or grape tomatoes, some cubed avocado, a sprinkle of hemp seeds (optional), some tempeh bacon crumbled on top, and then everything gets a nice, generous drizzle of this Raw Cashew Ranch dressing, courtesy of the Sunny Raw Kitchen.  (I reduced the olive oil & salt, and added a bunch of fresh cracked pepper.)  My mouth was very happy while eating this!  It is interesting, delicious, and full of fiber, healthy fats & protein.  It has become a dinner (and lunch) staple for me.  Who needs a BLT sandwich when you can pack so much goodness into a salad?!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 5:39 pm

    YUMMY! I’ve never made tempeh bacon so I think that im going to give this a whirl! Thanks girl!

  2. January 18, 2010 11:57 pm

    Oh my goodness, this salad looks so incredible! I have never made tempeh bacon either, but the photos of this salad makes me want to whip some up ASAP.

    Also, thanks for the information on helping out the victims in Haiti. So kind and thoughtful of you!

  3. January 19, 2010 9:22 am

    Delicious! I definitely need to eat more tempeh!

  4. January 19, 2010 5:02 pm

    I’m a fan of tempeh bacon, too! I love TLT sandwiches! :) I don’t eat them very often, but once in a while – MMMMMMM!!!!!!!!

  5. January 19, 2010 8:59 pm

    Yes, PLEASE! That looks perfect.

  6. January 23, 2010 10:48 am

    I LOVE tempeh and tempeh bacon!

Trackbacks

  1. My New Favorite Dinner: TLT Salad « Veg Out With Us! | salads

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

