Skip to content

How All Farm Animals Should Live

January 25, 2010

I recently returned from a visit to Tampa, FL, where I spent a long weekend with my sister and her husband. About 90 minutes north of Tampa is a small town called Ocala, and outside Ocala is a wonderful place that I’ve now had the pleasure of visiting twice: Kindred Spirits Sanctuary. Kindred Spirits is a non-profit farm animal sanctuary that helps neglected, abused, unwanted, or displaced farm animals. They have about 150 animal residents living on 36 acres.

Going to farm sanctuaries always fills me with a sense of peace and joy. I love seeing these beautiful, amazing animals living outdoors on pasture, enjoying the sunshine, being well-fed, and given medical treatment when needed. I love interacting with them and getting to know them. This time around, I brought treats: bags of apples and carrots, and boy did it ever make me more popular with the animals! Although the pigs did get a little mad when we left their area and moved on to the horses and donkeys – they followed us and “complained” (made lots of noises indicating their displeasure, according to the tour guide). Despite having brought what I thought was a pretty generous amount of produce, I wish I had brought much more – I could have fed them by hand all day long it was so fun!

Here are some of my photos from the visit. If you are ever in the area, I highly recommend going. The owners are so friendly and welcoming, and the animals were so fun to play with. Check out the photos and Kindred Spirits’ website, and donate if you can!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 7:28 pm

    Oh man, so many cuties!

  2. January 31, 2010 9:49 am

    we don’t have a farm sanctuary near us, but i always check out cities i’m traveling to. this looks like such an awesome way to spend a day. and how can you handle all that adorableness! :)

  3. February 4, 2010 8:04 am

    I love this. It’s my dream to open up an animal sanctuary! Next time I’m in the Tampa area I will definitely check them out.

  4. April 12, 2010 6:19 pm

    That is so awesome!! I live in St. Petersburg and did not know about this, but plan to schedule a visit before May 31st. ps, i know this is an older post, but I love your blog!:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

