Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 15, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day – a day late.  I was too busy making this cake last night to post anything. And I apologize for the quality of the photo. My camera was dead and I was too impatient (i.e. hungry for cake) to wait to charge it, so what you see here is a cell-phone picture.


Anyway, for this cake, I used the vanilla cake recipe in The Joy of Vegan Baking, and I used the vanilla frosting recipe  from Insatiably Epicurious.  This frosting recipe is really good for decorating – it’s just the right consistency for it (if you care about that sort of thing).  It’s also incredibly rich and decadent.  I used vegan food coloring to make actual cake pink (sorry, no photo), and also to make some of the frosting green and pink for decorating.  This was my first attempt at making a rose on a cake!  I am trying to learn how to decorate cakes, but let me tell you: it is an ART. I seriously don’t know how really cook cake decorators do it – it’s incredibly difficult.  At any rate, my (omnivore) boyfriend told me this was the best vanilla cake he’s ever had.  Quite a compliment!

I love being able to bake something that’s (somewhat) pretty and tastes delicious, but didn’t harm any animals in the process.  I think that’s probably why it tasted so good, right??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Steff permalink
    February 15, 2010 3:22 pm

    You MADE that?? That is absurdly awesome! And it’s very, very pretty. Nice work!

  2. February 15, 2010 4:51 pm

    Cute! I wish my boyfriend would eat cake…I’d so make one, but he’d probably only eat a tiny piece to appease me and then I’d be stuck with the rest. Your decorating skills are awesome!

  3. February 15, 2010 9:36 pm

    Gorgeous! Nice work lady.

  4. February 16, 2010 8:06 pm

    VERY impressive! I’ve never had luck with cake/cake decorating… vegan or non vegan :) It definitely IS an art, and you clearly have a talent for it.

  5. February 24, 2010 10:53 pm

    Adorable cake!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

