Skip to content

Vegan Mexican Pizza

September 2, 2009

I probably should have mentioned at the outset that most of the recipes I come up with on my own are really, really, ridiculously simple. I love cooking, and trying out other people’s recipes, but when I whip something up for myself, usually it takes less than 30 minutes, and looks sort of like a small child could have put it together. I’m okay with that, because I also happen to find this next recipe quite tasty.

mexican pizza2

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 store bought 12″ thin crust pizza crust (I use Boboli) (you could always be a show-off here and make your own, but that seems like a lot of work)
  • 1 15-oz. can of vegetarian refried pinto beans
  • 2 Tbsp Salsa or Enchilada Sauce
  • 1 bell pepper – any color or combination of colors (I used purple this time, which do not photograph as well, it turns out)
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 Tbsp water (or oil if preferred)
  • 1 11-oz. can of Southwestern style corn
  • 2 oz. (1/5 block) of Follow Your Heart cheddar cheese alternative, shredded (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. In a small sauce pan, mix together refried beans and salsa. Heat over low heat until mixture is easily spreadable.
  3. Meanwhile, chop bell pepper and onion and saute in the 2 Tablespoons of water (you can use oil if you prefer). Cook these until almost soft, and then add corn. Cook for a few minutes more until corn is heated through and some has browned a little.
  4. Spread the refried bean mixture onto the crust. (I use all of it, but if you don’t like beans as much as I do, you might want to do less and save the rest for something else.)
  5. Next, top the pizza with the corn/pepper/onion mixture. Then add the cheese*, if using.
  6. Bake at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes on a baking sheet.
  7. Cut into 4 big slices and top with your favorite toppings: avocado, lettuce, tomato, vegan sour cream…the list is endless!

______
* I am a little torn on the cheese here. I don’t think it adds that much in flavor, so I’m inclined not to use it, but if you like cheese alternatives a lot, then go for it! This has lots of flavor without the cheese, though.

Enjoy!
nutrition-mexican pizza
Makes: 4 servings. Nutrition information includes cheese, but not oil for frying or any toppings you add.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

