Skip to content

Recipe Review: Peanut Butter & Jelly Cookies from The Vegan Table

September 14, 2009

Okay, that title got a little long.  But it’s not my fault. Take it up with the cookbook’s author, Colleen Patrick-Goudreau.  And while you’re there, be sure to listen to her awesome podcast.

Now, let’s talk about peanut butter & jelly cookies!   These cookies combine two of my favorite things: peanut butter & jelly (that’s one thing, in case you were wondering) and COOKIES!

PB&J Cookies from The Vegan Table

PB&J Cookies from The Vegan Table

Let me start by saying these cookies are fantastic.  My boyfriend, who loves peanut butter more than he probably loves me, eats these cookies one after another like they’re …. delicious peanut butter cookies?   Um…yeah.  At any rate, for a guy who’s “not a big Sweets person”, you wouldn’t know it when he has a bag of these around.

Now, for the real review – i.e., some things that might actually be useful for you should you try to make these cookies:

  1. The recipe says it makes 2.5 dozen.  If you make teeny-tiny-itty-bitty cookies, this is true. I swear I thought mine were really small and I only got about 20 cookies out of it. (I sound like a big fat American, don’t I? “I want BIG cookies! What’s up with these NORMAL sized cookies?!?!” Oh boy.)
  2. I like more jelly than the recipe calls for, but the boyfriend also says I use more jelly than anyone he’s ever met, so take that for what you will.
  3. These puppies* are kind of hard to form such that you don’t have little breakages all around them.  The author’s instructions for forming them are solid, but apparently I’m just not very competent?
  4. I’ve made these with about 10 different kinds of jelly, and while generally speaking raspberry jelly is my favorite, for these cookies I definitely think strawberry is the way to go.
  5. I’ve also made them with chunky and with smooth peanut butter, and while both technically work, I think that smooth peanut butter works much better for these gems.  It makes shaping them a little bit easier and I think they look a little nicer with smooth peanut butter too.

Hopefully that was helpful – now go forth and multiply peanut butter & jelly cookies!

____________________
*No actual puppies were harmed in the making of these cookies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. youaresexy permalink
    September 15, 2009 11:00 am

    Those look so good!

  2. September 19, 2009 4:43 am

    Damn, these sound good!

Leave a Reply

