Skip to content

Candy Bar Giveaway!

September 25, 2009
Jokerz!

Jokerz!

Did that get your attention?   Who doesn’t like free candy?!

The awesome folks over at Go Max Go Foods have agreed to join forces with Veg Out with Us! for a vegan candy bar giveaway!  This company makes the absolute best vegan candy bars around, which is why they are understandably taking the vegan world by storm.  The bars are offered in flavors that are totally reminiscent of those old childhood favorites – except now they’re a wee bit healthier & cruelty-free!  I guess “healthier” might be a bit of an exaggeration since it’s a candy bar – but the bars are trans fat & cholesterol-free.  And they taste amazing.  (Like anyone needs a reason to eat a candy bar, right?)

I tried to write my own descriptions of these bars, but no words really do them justice.  You just have to try them for yourself.  But to give you a “taste” (so to speak), here are the official descriptions via GMGF’s website:

  • When your idea of the perfect candy bar is all about peanutty goodness, then we’ve got you covered. If layers of dry roasted peanuts, buttery-tasting caramel, and rich peanut nougat, sweetly wrapped in a delicious chocolately coating sounds like a little slice of heaven, then smile, the Jokerz™ bar is for you!  (Like a Snickers, but better!)
  • How does a rich, fluffy, chocolately nougat covered in a creamy chocolately coating sound right about now? If you can’t answer because desire is consuming you… aye matey, ’tis a Buccaneer™ bar for you!  (So much like a 3 Musketeers, you won’t believe it.)
  • Now imagine that rich, fluffy, chocolately nougat topped with a layer of thick, buttery-tasting caramel all wrapped up in our very own creamy, rice-milk chocolately coating. If this gives you sweet dreams of good taste, then the Twilight™ bar is for you!  (Very Milky Way-like.)
  • If you crave a gently sweetened coconut candy bar topped with three whole dry roasted almonds and covered in a luscious chocolately coating… hang loose, the Mahalo™ bar is for you!  (Almond Joy, anyone?)

CandyBars_PackagedOne very lucky Veg Out! reader will win a sampler pack of all four of these amazingly delicious candy bars!  To enter, leave a comment with your name, and just for fun, describe what type of candy bar you’d create if you had a candy-making company.  What would be in it, and what would you call it?  (Just so you know, Mindy & I will be drooling imagining what your faux creations would taste like – but the winner be will chosen at random.)

The contest starts NOW, and will close next Friday, 10/2/09 at 11:59 p.m. (CDT).  (Until then, the candy bars will be in safe keeping in my mouth in a taped up box, which I’ll ask my boyfriend to hide from me.)

Good luck, everyone!

59 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 1:31 pm

    Ooh, awesome giveaway! I’ve been dying to try those. I’ve tried other brands of vegan candy bars and they just don’t hold a candle to my old faves — Snickers, Nutrageous, etc. These look more like the real thing.

    If I had a candy bar company, I’d create a Peanutty Smores Bar with gooey vegan marshmallow over a graham cracker bits and peanuts encased in velvety ricemilk chocolate.

    • September 25, 2009 2:15 pm

      hey bianca, have you tried sweet and sara’s smores? they don’t have peanut chunks, but they’re amazing, and i think it might fill that space in your tummy.

    • September 30, 2009 3:49 am

      Bianca, I would eat your candy creation in a heartbeat!

  2. September 25, 2009 1:47 pm

    Hey, I’m Nick and my candy bar would be as follows:
    Peanut butter, toffee, and white chocolate nougats covered with coconut!

  3. September 25, 2009 2:06 pm

    Yuuuummmmmm! These have been on my wishlist for a while!

    If I had a candy company, I would run it like Willy Wonka! Only vegan. I’d make a melt in your mouth smooth, dark chocolate coating to go over a creamy raspberry filling. The bottom layer would be a krispy rice and pistachio nut crunch!

  4. Tavia permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:07 pm

    What an awesome giveaway!

    If I made a candy bar, it would have a crisp shortbread cookie, layered with crucnhy peanut butter, then creamy caramel, then drenched in dark chocolate!

    Thanks for the opportunity to win! 🙂

  5. September 25, 2009 2:07 pm

    Oh yeah. These are great. I’ve had one of each of them and they are hands-down the best vegan candy bar out there. Yum.

    I used to be a huge fan of the Mr. Big candy bar back in my pre-vegan days. I think that should be the next bar GMGF tackles. It’s got nugget, peanuts, some marshmallowey stuff (they could use Dandies!) and covered in chocolate, of course.

    This is the best tasting contest ever.

  6. September 25, 2009 2:08 pm

    Oooh, yes! I was going to treat myself to these for Halloween, but free is good too!

    If I could make a vegan candy bar, it’d be chocolate coated and filled with chocolate chips, coffee beans, Dandies and nougat.

  7. September 25, 2009 2:13 pm

    i miss the whatchamacallits. the nutz over chocolate luna bar kinda fills a void, but it’s not exactly the same.

    so yeah, i’d make a vegan version of whatchamacallit, and call it “that’swhatyoumightcallit” yeah… of course i’d get sued, cause it’s so similar.

  8. September 25, 2009 2:26 pm

    Great giveaway! I’ve been wanting to try these out!

    My candy bar would be a mix between a Snickers and a Reeses. Shaped like a snickers with peanuts and all the stuff in a snickers with lots of PB added and covered in dark chocolate. I would call it the “Ginger”..since that’s my dogs name! 🙂

  9. cookingforaveganlover permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:35 pm

    I’d love a candy bar filled with lots of caramel, nuts, peanut butter, and toffeee chunks

  10. Josh permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:36 pm

    These sound good!

    In general I like sweet things but I also like savory, and I think the ‘bar’ world (be it candy or otherwise) could use more savory options, so I’m going to not totally follow directions and say that I’d love a Chips and Salsa Bar. Not sure how you’d make it … maybe sundried tomato salsa with a cornchip based bar or something. But then, I’ll leave the details up to someone else.

  11. Steff permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:43 pm

    I would do a veganized version of that Take 5 bar that has the pretzels in it, because ZOMG that is good! I can’t think of a name, but any name would be better than “Take 5,” because what is up with that?

    Nomnomnom I hope I win some candy bars! I need more candy bars in my life.

  12. Jodie permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:47 pm

    I’d like 2 try. Yum vegan candy. If I made a candy bar it’s be chocolate w/raspberry flavors n bits of caramel. I’d call it Raspberry Bliss

  13. Dan permalink
    September 25, 2009 2:56 pm

    My wife often gets a sweet tooth, and there are really no “good’ vegan candy bars out there. I’d do a Chocolate, Almond and Raspberry bar called “Aware” (Were you aware no animal products are in this candy bar?)

  14. September 25, 2009 3:12 pm

    I love these bars! If I were to create another I would ask for a Reese’s-like candy, but maybe with almond butter instead!

  15. September 25, 2009 3:34 pm

    I would create:
    A thin, marshmallow rice crispie treat between layers of caramel and peanut butter, enrobed in thick, dark chocolate. Go Max Go, please create these & I will buy a bushel a week!

  16. roxanne permalink
    September 25, 2009 3:35 pm

    My vegan candy bar would have a dark chocolate vegan cookie, a layer of coffee flavored caramel, a layer of coconut and all drenched in rice milk chocolate.

  17. September 25, 2009 4:42 pm

    Okay, I love it these, I’m not gonna lie. I’ve only had ONE BITE of three of them, though, since they “magically” disappeared. All signs point to the husband on this one! 😉

    My ideal candy bar? A vegan Crunch Bar or vegan Kit Kat replica. *drools*

    Courtney 🙂

  18. September 25, 2009 5:09 pm

    Pick me because I’m awesome! My candy bar would be gooey and chocolate and caramely or possibly have chunks of dried cherries.

  19. Maggie permalink
    September 25, 2009 6:39 pm

    one layer of peanut butter (no brainer!) filling reminiscent of the kind used in reeses pb cups, one layer of fluffy rice mellow nougat ( a la 3 musketeers), and a layer of peanut butter caramel with pretzel pieces mixed in for some added chrunch. all enrobed in non dairy chocolate and sprinkled with a little coarse sea salt to cut some the sweetness. yum! I’d call it the Fluffer Nutter Extreme!

  20. dizzymisslizzie permalink
    September 25, 2009 7:48 pm

    What a fun giveaway! Almond Joys were my absolute favorite, that Mahalo is calling my name. If I could make a candy bar it would have solid white chocolate, wrapped around a gingery truffle center. I think I would have to call them Little Dippers. Thanks for the chance to win these bars!

  21. September 25, 2009 8:01 pm

    I’d be working on vegan versions of 100 Grand, Twix, and Kit Kat bars. Then after gorging myself on those, I’d attempt something new.

  22. September 25, 2009 8:05 pm

    Ooh they look good.

    I’d love a candy bar with crispy malt puff candy center, a caramel layer and milk and white chocolate and sprinkled pecans. I’d call it….um…..Indulgence. Not the most ingenious name but hey, it’s Friday, I’m tired and now I’m hungry.

  23. September 25, 2009 8:45 pm

    crisp rice & caramel covered in chocolate..yummm.

  24. Erin permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:58 pm

    Oooh, I hope I win! My ideal candy bar would have a thick chocolate coating, chunky peanut butter, and a middle layer of rice krispies with vegan buttercream or cream cheese icing. Mmm…or maybe pumpkin pie….or butterscotch…

  25. Sarah permalink
    September 25, 2009 9:08 pm

    Oh yum!!!

    Peanut butter cups. I would call them….Over 18.

  26. September 25, 2009 9:52 pm

    Ok, you are super-sweet AND hilarious! Haha so I’m not going to say “I have entered you.”

    😉

  27. Nicholas Vonn permalink
    September 25, 2009 10:28 pm

    I would make the ‘Fat Candybar in a Little Wrapper’ as I am a fat man in a skinny man’s body.

    • Jessica permalink*
      September 25, 2009 10:36 pm

      You, sir, cannot win because you live with me! Get outta here, ya cheater! 🙂

  28. sophiapflieger permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:24 am

    I’s make a Vegan “Butterfinger”, not orginal but its the chocolate bar I miss the most since going Vegan. I haven’t had a chocolate bar of any kind in more then 3 years! I would love to win this giveaway!

    • September 30, 2009 3:50 am

      Try “Peanut Butter Bars” by Aitkinson candy.. just dip them in chocolate & they’re pretty darn close!

  29. September 26, 2009 11:07 am

    What fun!

    I would recreate Twix- one of my fave candy bars before going vegan- love the cookie crunch, caramel and chocolate.

    My own creation would be coconut with some dried pineapple bits, macadamia nuts coated in dark and white chocolate- all vegan of course! I would call it pina chocolata 🙂

  30. September 26, 2009 11:47 am

    Is this open to UK residents? I would love to try these bars! If it is, I would create a bar kind of like a mars bar or what it looks like is a milky way in America but with chunks of soft cookie dough in the nougat bit

  31. Becky Lennon permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:45 pm

    What a great contest! I used to love the Whatchamacallit (I’m sure that’s not the correct spelling!) candy bars. There was a lot of chocolate involved, plus little crispies of some kind. I would love to make a vegan version of those.

  32. September 26, 2009 3:03 pm

    chocolate, soft fluffy noughaty middle with tiny bits of walnuts and coconut flakes. I would call it CrazyGood bar.

  33. September 26, 2009 7:48 pm

    These bars are tasty. If I was making a bar it would be tofee covered with ricemilk. Like the Heath/Skorr bars. Also a peanut butter cup like Reese’s would be great too!

  34. September 26, 2009 8:22 pm

    Delicious!! My name is Jessica, I live in Irvine, California and if I could make a candy bar it would have to be anything with chocolate and cherries mixed in, mmm. Maybe even with some coconut! I’d call it the Triple Whammy because it has all 3 of my favorite flavors 🙂

  35. Jen permalink
    September 26, 2009 8:23 pm

    Hmm…. I think I would make it rice milk chocolate with almonds and a ribbon of caramel! I would call it something corny like “Decadence” hehe…

  36. veggie365 permalink
    September 26, 2009 9:19 pm

    I would adore a vegan version of Twix – mmmm…. but my husband always remembers fondly the “Marathon” bar – “nobody eats a Marathon quick, Carl”!! It was just a caramel braid that was covered in chocolate! Mmmm . . . chewy deliciousness!

  37. Hannah permalink
    September 26, 2009 9:31 pm

    I think I’d imagine up a chocolate bar with salted caramel and roasted pistachios covered in super dark chocolate…

  38. September 27, 2009 3:17 am

    I have a bunch of friends from Ohio who make “Buckeye” candies for Ohio State games. They are sugary buttery peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate. I would like to veganize those!

  39. September 27, 2009 10:22 am

    Wow the all bars sounds yummy. I love anything with chocolate!

  40. September 27, 2009 12:01 pm

    holy moly! there’s a lot of people who want free vegan candy bars!!! And I’m one of ’em –

    My candy bar would be hazelnut coconut whipped nugget (all fluffy and delicious like..) covered in a thick layer of dark chocolate and dusted with candied ginger.

  41. taleoftwovegans permalink
    September 28, 2009 1:43 am

    Mmm, I have been drooling over those bars for a while now! As for inventing my own, thats a toughie! I think I would have dark chocolate, nougat, caramel and some vegan white chocolate.
    -K

  42. ikkinlala permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:12 am

    May Canadians enter?

    I’m bad with naming things, but my chocolate bar would have salted macadamia nuts, chewy caramel, and dark chocolate.

  43. cadryskitchen permalink
    September 28, 2009 7:57 am

    What a fun giveaway! I’ve heard about these candy bars and have been curious to try them for myself… you know, in the name of science. 😉 My dream candy bar would be a vegan peanut roll, but with a mixture of peanuts and cashews. I’d call it The Boxer or Cashews Clay.

  44. Emily permalink
    September 28, 2009 3:04 pm

    Mmmm…

    Of course, the bar I make would have to be vegan. That said, i think some sort of crispy rice, coconut and caramel combo would be mixed up, put into bar form then covered by chocolate. Oh great, now I’m hungry. =)

  45. September 28, 2009 3:20 pm

    i would make something that is just like the smores brownies i recently got from
    http://www.sweetfritsy.etsy.com

    this isnt spam, just i am in love with those friggin brownies, and this is totally my answer
    her brownies made into a candy bar

    hello 35 extra pounds!!!!

    • Jessica permalink*
      September 28, 2009 4:23 pm

      That’s so weird! I was just looking at that Etsy shop the other day… I need to try these brownies!

  46. September 28, 2009 5:03 pm

    !!! Free vegan candy bars?!? Life can’t get any better!! 😀 Hmm, what I would put into a vegan candy bar? Hard to say, but as others here have said, I sure did like the Whatchamacallit it in my pre-vegan days, so I’d probably do something like that. Now, what would I call it…? Gosh… um… Tongue Teaser, maybe? Or maybe, gonebeforeyouknowit…

  47. Randy Fong permalink
    September 29, 2009 3:13 am

    I’d have a candy bar filled with all types of nuts (walnut, pine nuts, almonds). I’d call it a “Nutcase Bar”. A bar worthy of the times we live in!

  48. Gelareh permalink
    September 29, 2009 4:09 pm

    YUM! They look yumelicious! I looked up online and there is NO WHERE in TX that you can by them… I was very disapointed, but then again I live in the cow country 😦

    I would make a vegan Tres Leche Cake Candy Bar.. It would have soft spongy bottom vanilla layer with a creamy chewey coconuty top wrapped in white chocolate coconut cream. YUM!

  49. October 1, 2009 8:50 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  50. Susie permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:03 pm

    I’d make a Butterscotch Parfait Bar: Butterscotch, Peanuts, & Marshmallow layered in a bar of chocolate. And I’d chop it up and eat it in some vanilla ice cream in a fancy sundae glass 🙂

  51. October 1, 2009 3:26 pm

    my dream candybar would start with a bed of crispy, crunchy, peanut brittle. I would then cover that in a chewy coconut-fluff with peanut chunks mixed inside. Then the whole thing would be covered in thick dark chocolate. All vegan.

    I would eat a hundred in a week. The weight gain would be worth it.

  52. Lainy permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:29 pm

    Ahhh those sound so good right about now!

    If I could make my own chocolate bar right now ,it’d probably be very almond-y with just a little caramel flavour.
    Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

  53. October 3, 2009 10:15 pm

    Ahh rats!
    I just found your blog and I missed the entry by one day!

  54. October 4, 2009 2:33 pm

    Wow, killer shot of the innards! It totally drool-worthy.

Leave a Reply

