Skip to content

Recipe Review: Mac & Cheese from Fat Bottom Bakery

October 29, 2009

Summer & Fall 2009 099

Look at that.  It’s macaroni & cheese (or shells & cheese, in my case).  Not only that, but it’s vegan mac & cheese.  I mean, really – how good does that look?!  How jealous are you that I have this sitting in my fridge (and my belly) right now?

So, this recipe took second place in the SF Food Wars Mac Battle Royale with Cheese a couple months back.  Cool, right?  Oh, but did I mention that it wasn’t a vegan contest?!  A vegan macaroni & cheese winning SECOND PLACE in a contest that featured competitors’ dishes that were filled with tons dairy cheese (and bacon, duck fat, and other ridiculousness)???  I mean, don’t get me wrong.  I think vegan food is amazing.  Obviously. Most things can be made vegan, and they end up tasting just as good, if not better, than their animal product-containing counterparts.  But mac & cheese is just one of those dishes that can’t often compare to the stuff we remember from childhood.  I’ve had Summer & Fall 2009 100some great vegan mac.  But this.  This, my friends, was above & beyond.

The directions make it look a liiiiiittle labor intensive – but it actually took me only about an hour from start to finish (including the half hour bake time).  Easy peasy.  Modifications on my part: I reduced the miso to about a teaspoon, and I sprinkled some French grey sea salt on top of the bread crumbs (because I’m fancy like that).  And I used half water/half So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage in place of the soy milk.  Oh, and I just baked the bread crumbs right on top of the mac instead of toasting them separately.  This worked great & eliminated a step.

Note: Yes, this is vegan.  Yes, it tastes amazing.  But no, it’s not “good” for you (i.e. it’s not low-fat in the slightest).  I don’t even want to know the calorie count.  I mean, damn – that’s a lot of Earth Balance.  (And c’mon – this recipe is from a bakery named Fat Bottom!)  But since when is macaroni & cheese supposed to be health food?  It’s a creamy, dreamy indulgence to be fully enjoyed every now & then.  So find an excuse to make this as soon as possible, and dig in!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 10:44 pm

    That looks SO good! Mac and cheese is never supposed to be health food, vegan or not. I say indulge away!

  2. October 29, 2009 11:19 pm

    o.m.g. I don’t care if it takes me TWO hours. It doesn’t matter that its hot + summery here in Australia. When my exams are over I am making THIS.

    ps. so glad I found you girls by tag-surfing ‘vegan’!

    • Jessica permalink*
      October 30, 2009 9:24 am

      Yay! We’re glad you found us, too! 🙂

  3. October 30, 2009 8:12 am

    This looks like the best mac and cheese I’ve ever seen! 🙂 YUM!

  4. November 3, 2009 7:23 pm

    Can I PLEASE have the recipe to this???

  5. November 9, 2009 9:17 pm

    You’re right. I’m really jealous. And I even just finished dinner.

  6. November 25, 2009 1:36 am

    Wow! That looks soooooooooooo good! I can’t wait to give this one a go. And congrats on taking 2nd place in that contest!! You’ve got 1st place in my mind for your cruelty free mac&cheese. Thanks for the recipe.

    • Jessica permalink*
      November 25, 2009 9:30 am

      Haha. Thanks, but this isn’t OUR recipe; we just reviewed it when we made it. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Recipe Review: Mac & Cheese from Fat Bottom Bakery « Veg Out With Us! [vegoutwithus.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

