Skip to content

Restaurant Review: Ecopolitan

November 16, 2009

Cashew Cheese Log with Flax Crackers

I don’t go out to eat very often – partly because I love cooking, and partly because I don’t like spending money on food I could make at home.  I’m all for splurging on a delicious (vegan) meal once in awhile, but since I really do enjoy preparing my own food at home, I usually save dining out for an “every now & then” type of thing.

Falafel Wrap

That said, sometimes it’s nice to get out of the kitchen & leave the food prep to the experts!  I will gladly shell out money to visit a restaurant that serves great veg food – and even better if it provides a warm, inviting atmosphere.  And, extra bonus if every single thing on the menu is vegan!

(Basically, what I’m saying is that if I’m going to go out to eat, I’m not going to Taco Bell or to a place that will serve me something I can easily make on my own.  I want it to be worth it!)

Red Avocado Pizza

Enter Ecopolitan, a 100% vegan & raw restaurant – right here in Minneapolis.  In addition to the restaurant, they also have a juice & smoothie bar, wine bar, and “eco-shop” (where they sell items like juicers, blenders, and organic clothing).  Also, not only is everything on the menu vegan and raw (which is pretty darn eco-friendly in & of itself) – but Ecopolitan makes it a point to recycle, compost, and use washable napkins (as opposed to disposable).  They even use (and sell) non-toxic cleaning products!  Another “green” thing they do that I think some people find a wee bit obnoxious (but that I have to say I actually appreciate) is that they charge a small fee (50 cents) for to-go containers.  I don’t see this as price gouging or anything of that sort; instead, it’s meant to encourage diners to bring their own (reusable) containers in order to take home leftovers.  How many restaurants are so earth conscious?  (Not many!  Not many at all.)

Flaxseed Tostadas

So, all of this is really great, right?  But what about the foodWell, the food is divine.  I’ve never had a bad meal here.  Ever.  In fact, I’ve never had a meal here that was anything less than amazing.  From Veggies & Cashew Ranch and Pine Nut Not-Cho “Cheese” as appetizers, to Rawvioli or (my favorite) Flaxseed Tostadas for entrees, diners really can’t go wrong here.  Mindy loves the Eco-Sausage Pizza, and I can’t get enough of the Cashew “Cheese” Log.  (Holy sweet gourd, I want to live off that stuff.)  Their desserts vary each day, and I’ve actually only tried a couple because I’m usually too full from the main course to eat anything more!  Though it’s really that great feeling of being comfortably sated but not stuffed, as well as having the satisfaction of knowing you had a delicious – yet super healthy – meal of living, raw, vegan food.

Eco-Sausage Pizza

I will say that the service is a little slow – but this has never bothered me because I know what to expect, so I don’t come here if I’m in a rush. Ecopolitan is romantic enough to bring a date, and laid back enough to have a leisurely meal with friends.  It’s a really cozy, charming place to sit down & enjoy a raw, organic, and cruelty-free meal.  What could be more appetizing than that?

Clearly, Ecopolitan is worth venturing out of the kitchen every now & then!

Ecopolitan is located at 2409 Lyndale Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55405.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 9:22 pm

    Thanks for the review!

  2. November 16, 2009 9:48 pm

    Just found your blog. I love it! Had no idea there was a Minneapolis focused veggie blog. Thanks so much for the great reviews/stories/posts etc…

  3. November 17, 2009 12:37 am

    This place sounds amazing! I have only one itty bitty vegan cafe in my town ( a city of nearly 400,000 people and only ONE vegan place??), and while it is a delicious restaurant, I’d sure love some variety and I’d really like a place with raw options. lucky!

  4. November 17, 2009 8:31 am

    Every meal here looks amazing and are exactly what i would of picked! Falafel and Tostadas? YUM!!!!!!

  5. cookingforaveganlover permalink
    November 17, 2009 8:44 am

    looks like a wonderful meal! I could really go for a raw meal right now

  6. Mindy permalink*
    November 17, 2009 9:33 am

    I’d also like to note that this is where Jeff took me on our first date. Since the date was going so well, I was THRILLED about the slow service. 🙂

  7. November 17, 2009 3:07 pm

    This is my FAVORITE restaurant in Minneapolis. This is also the restaurant that inspired my boyfriend to become vegan 🙂 YAY! Awesome review!

  8. November 17, 2009 3:08 pm

    That eco-sausage pizza sounds amazing! We have one modest raw cafe in Memphis serving burgers and a seaweed salad, but I’d love some fancy raw stuff like that!

  9. November 18, 2009 10:28 am

    That place sounds great! All the food looks amazing too, especially the flax tostadas and cashew cheese log!

  10. Courtney permalink
    November 18, 2009 3:36 pm

    I just found your blog, and I LOVE Ecopolitan! I live just a few blocks away from it, and whenever I have people come stay with me, we always go there. The green burrito is my favorite!

    Courtney

  11. November 18, 2009 9:35 pm

    Ecopolitan is my second favorite restaurant, right after Millennium in San Fran.

    Their lasagna is great and is the thing I always recommend to unsure non-vegans. Also, for dessert, you can’t beat their parfait. It’s only the best thing ever.

    • Jessica permalink*
      November 18, 2009 10:01 pm

      I LOVE Millennium. That’s a fabulous restaurant, too. 🙂

  12. Jenny permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:48 pm

    This looks so delicious! We live a few blocks away and I’ve already hinted a few times to the hubby that I would love to have a date night here. Cannot wait to check it out!!

Leave a Reply

