Skip to content

Delicious Vegan Waffles

November 24, 2009

My boyfriend loves waffles. A while ago I made him Peanut Butter waffles from the Vegan Brunch cookbook. He liked them a lot, but I thought they were too rich for breakfast, so I tried another recipe from the same book: Old Fashioned Chelsea Waffles. These really hit the spot! I made some changes to the recipe partly because I didn’t have all the suggested ingredients, and partly because I wanted to lower the fat a bit. So, here is the adapted recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups lowfat soy milk (or other nondairy milk)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 2 T unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2 T agave nectar
  • 1 T blackstrap molasses
  • 1-3/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c cornmeal
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • cooking spray for waffle iron

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat your waffle iron.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together milk, vinegar, oil, apple sauce, agave nectar, and molasses vigorously until well mixed.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and mix together until batter is smooth. Spray the waffle iron with cooking spray before placing batter on iron every time.

Makes 6 round 6″ waffles.

These waffles aren’t really crispy on the outside like some waffles. They’re more dense and a little softer on the outside. However, this weekend I made some for Jeff that he could freeze and then toast in the mornings.  He said they toasted up really nicely. In fact, the exact text message I got from him was: “Toasted waffles = NOMNOMNOM.”

These are great with Earth Balance and maple syrup OR you can add whipped cream and blueberries like I did (the whipped cream basically negated the “I’m going to make lower fat waffles” idea – whoops – but it WAS delicious).  Also, the whipped cream recipe I linked to here is FANTASTIC.  It does have a little coconut taste to it (more so on Day 2), but I don’t mind that at all. Oh, and I use more like 1/2 c powdered sugar instead of the recommended 1/3.  What can I say, I like the sweetness!  Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 6:55 pm

    Holy crap! These looks delicious!!!!!!

  2. Amy permalink
    December 1, 2009 1:03 am

    These sound wonderful! I’m definately going to try them. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

